Home Politics Tamil Nadu Assembly election 2021, Thiruthuraipoondi (SC) profile: DMK's Adalarasan P won...

Tamil Nadu Assembly election 2021, Thiruthuraipoondi (SC) profile: DMK’s Adalarasan P won seat by over 21,000 votes in 2016

DMK’s Adalarasan had wrested the Thiruthuraipoondi Assembly seat from the CPI in the 2016 polls

Representational image. Image courtesy: News18

Thiruthuraipoondi is an Assembly/Vidhan Sabha constituency in the Tiruvarur district of Tamil Nadu. It falls under the Tiruvarur Lok Sabha constituency. It is a Scheduled Caste reserved constituency

In the 2016 Tamil Nadu Assembly election, the Thiruthuraipoondi constituency had a total of 2,22,916 registered voters.

Voter turnout in previous election

The voter turnout in Thiruthuraipoondi in the previous Assembly election was 78.78 percent.

Past election results and winners

In the 2016 Tamil Nadu Assembly election, Adalarasan P of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam party (DMK) won the Thiruthuraipoondi seat. He won 1,00,918 votes, as against 79,642 votes won by his main rival Umamaheswari of AIADMK.

In the 2011 Assembly polls, K Ulaganathan of Communist Party of India party won this seat against P Selvadurai of Congress.

The Thiruthuraipoondi Assembly constituency will go to the polls on 6 April as part of the Tamil Nadu Assembly election 2021.

The Tamil Nadu Assembly polls will be held to elect a total of 234 Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs).

Source by [author_name]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

FDA finds poor conditions at Baltimore plant that ruined millions of doses of J&J Covid vaccine

A detail of Janssen Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccine that is not currently being given out because it has been put on hold.Allen J....

More wealthy go to cash, but millionaire market bears still minority

The decline in Netflix shares after weak subscriber growth sent a chill through the market about a bull run for stay-at-home stocks that may...

A WhatsApp group of film technicians and aspirants in Kerala got together to make a short film

The members made monetary contributions besides being part of the crew as technicians and actors in the short film made during the pandemic...

West Bengal Elections: BJP vice-president, TMC ministers in fray among 43 seats in Phase 6 tomorrow; date, time of polling

Amid a raging second wave of COVID-19, over 1 crore voters in West Bengal will decide the political fate of 306 candidates on Thursday, when...

Recent Comments