Home Politics Kerala Assembly Election 2021, Chathannoor Profile: CPI's GS Jayalal contesting for third...

Kerala Assembly Election 2021, Chathannoor Profile: CPI’s GS Jayalal contesting for third run against UDF, NDA

GS Jayalal of CPI is the sitting MLA of this constituency, while NK Premchandran of the Revolutionary Socialist Party is the current MP from the Lok Sabha seat.

Chathannoor Assembly Election 2021 | Chathannoor is an Assembly constituency in the Kollam district of Kerala. It is one of the seven Assembly seats that fall under the Kollam Parliamentary constituency. The election to the state will be held on 6 April and results will be out on 2 May.

GS Jayalal of CPI is the sitting MLA of this constituency, while NK Premchandran of the Revolutionary Socialist Party is the current MP from the Lok Sabha seat.

CPI has fielded Jayalal again to defend the seat for the third time.  The Congress, meanwhile, has fielded veteran leader N Peethambara Kurup, who has represented the Kollam constituency in Lok Sabha between 2009 and 2014. The BJP has fielded BB Gopakumar, who had lost to Jayalal with a massive margin in 2016.

Past election and results 

Jayalal has held the Left flag flying since 2011 in the seat. Before him, N Anirudhan of the CPI was MLA for one term. The seat has elected a Congress representative only thrice between 1965 and 2016.

In 2016, Jayalal won the seat by defeating BJP’s Gopakumar with a margin of over 34,407 votes. In 2011, he had defeated Congress’ Bindu Krishna with a margin of 12,589 votes. However, the fact that the BJP could outperform Congress to come to the second spot has given the party confidence that Chathanoor could be a three-way contest. The saffron party had registered a 21. 56 percent increase in its vote share, while the Congress suffered a 19 percent decline. The BJP’s rise at the expense of Congress is one of the reasons the Grand Old Party has fielded a trusted hand and veteran like Kurup.

Elections in Kerala have traditionally been a contest between the UDF and the LDF with power swinging between the two groups.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha election, the Congress-led UDF had won 19 out of the state’s 20 Lok Sabha seats banking on incumbency against the ruling LDF. However, repeating a similar feat in the Assembly polls is going to be an uphill task for the UDF.

The LDF has not only managed to overcome anti-incumbency in the 2020 local body polls, but also managed to make inroads into UDF vote-banks, particularly in Thrissur, Ernakulam, and Kottayam districts.

The NDA, which is emerging as a third front in Kerala, will be hoping to increase its tally in the Assembly polls. However, given that the BJP-led NDA didn’t meet the expectations in the 2020 local body polls despite making gains, its ability to impact either the UDF’s or LDF’s prospects in the Assembly election remains unclear.

In the local body polls, however, the people have shown a clear preference towards the CPM-led Left Democratic Front (LDF). Since 1979, only once, in 2010, has the United Democratic Front (UDF) upset the apple cart.

Total electors, voter turnout, population

Electors: According to the Election Commission of India, the total number of registered electors in the state is 2,67,31,509, including 1,29,52,025 male, 1,37,79,263 female and 211 third gender voters.

In the district of Kollam alone, there are 20,93,511 voters of which 9,97,190 are male and 10,96,308 are female. There are 13 third-gender voters in the district.

The Chathannoor constituency has 1,81,123 registered voters ahead of the 2021 elections of which 84,076 are male and 97,046 are female. One voter has registered themselves of the third gender.

Voter Turnout: The overall voter turnout during the 2016 Assembly election was 77.35 percent. The percentage voter turnout of women voters excluding the postal ballot was 75.97 percent and that of men voters excluding postal ballot was 78.14 percent.

At least 74.09 percent of registered voters had come out to vote in the Chathannoor Assembly constituency, of which 70.07 percent were male and 77.51 percent were females.

Population and demography: Total population of the Kollam district is 2,635,375 as per census 2011. Hinduism constitutes 64.42 percent of the Kollam population. Muslims are in minority in the Kollam district, forming 19.30 percent of the total population here. Christians constitute of the 16 percent of the population.

Out of the total Kollam population for 2011 census, 45.05 percent lives in urban regions of district, whereas 54.95 percent of its population lives in rural areas.

Election date and timing

The Kerala Assembly/Niyama Sabha polls will be held on 6 April, 2021, along with Tamil Nadu and Puducherry. The day will also see phase three polls in Assam and West Bengal.

The Kerala Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) has a total number of 140 seats, of which, 14 seats are reserved for the Scheduled Castes and two seats are reserved for the Scheduled Tribes.

The outgoing Assembly has eight female MLAs and rest 132 are male MLAs. The current Kerala Niyamasabha session will expire on 1 June 2021.

Source by [author_name]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

West Bengal Elections: BJP vice-president, TMC ministers in fray among 43 seats in Phase 6 tomorrow; date, time of polling

Amid a raging second wave of COVID-19, over 1 crore voters in West Bengal will decide the political fate of 306 candidates on Thursday, when...

The most popular and top emerging destinations

Siesta Key beach in Sarasota, Florida.Pola Damonte via Getty Images | Moment | Getty ImagesAmericans are looking to finally get out and about this...

Daily U.S. data on April 21

Medical tech Janette Serrano injects Henry Perez, 71, with a Covid-19 vaccine are offered at the Bell Community Center.Robert Gauthier | Los Angeles Times...

Recent Comments